Wilbrecht Lab Team

Linda Wilbrecht
Linda WilbrechtAssociate Professor of Psychology
Linda Wilbrecht’s research is focused on how experience alters neural circuits that contribute to value and reward based decision making. She did her PhD research in the laboratory of Fernando Nottebohm at the Rockefeller University and postdoctoral training at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory with Karel Svoboda and UCSF with Michael Merzenich. From 2008-2013, Dr. Wilbrecht was an Assistant Professor in the Department of Neurology at UCSF and an Investigator at the Ernest Gallo Clinic and Research Center. In 2013,  Wilbrecht moved her lab to the Psychology Department at the University of California, Berkeley and became a member of the Helen Wills Neuroscience Institute. She is also a recipient of the 2009 NIMH Biobehavioral Research Award for Innovative New Scientists (BRAINS award) and a 2010 Presidential Early Career Award for Science and Engineering (PECASE). She is a member of the leadership team of The Center on the Developing Adolescent. Portrait by Peg Skorpinski for UC Berkeley VCR.

Senior Scientist

Lung-Hao Tai, PhDSenior Scientist

Postdoctoral Fellows

Kristen Delevich, PhDPostdoctoral Fellow
George Prounis, PhDPostdoctoral Fellow

Graduate students

Juliana ChaseGraduate Student
Azure GrantGraduate Student
Madeline KlingerGraduate Student
Wan Chen LinGraduate Student


Nana Okada, Chris Hall, Ameet Rahane, Serena Hughes, Grace K Yun, Chris Machle, Albert Qu, Aishwarya PattnaikCurrent Undergraduate Students

Post graduate Lab Alumni

David Piekarski, PhDPostdoctoral Fellow
A. Wren Thomas, PhDGraduate Student
At Genentech
Denise M. Piscopo, PhDUniversity of Oregon
Natalia Caporale, PhDCAMPOS Faculty Scholar and Lecturer, UC Davis
F. Javier Muñoz-Cuevas, PhDUniversity of Maryland
Ezequiel Galarce, PhDRally Health
Carolyn Johnson, PhDPostdoctoral Fellow, Harvard – Hensch Lab
Josiah Boivin, PhDPostdoctoral Fellow, MIT – Nedivi Lab
Angela Vandenberg, PhDAdjunct Faculty, Bellingham College
A. Moses Lee, PhDUCSF MSTP
Karen Berger, PhD
Aroma Dabas, MS, graduate student in Berlin School of Mind and Brain
Dan Schwartz, MD UCSF/UCB Joint Medical Program

Undergraduate/RA lab Alumni

Claudia WuUC Irvine Graduate Program
Hannah PecklerUCSF Nursing Program
Jegath AthilingamUCSF Graduate Program
Trisha Vaidyanathan, graduate program UCSFUCSF Graduate Program
Nora BeñavidezGraduate Student, USC
Cameron Bates, Match.com
Nick Williams, graduate student Duke University
Niusha Bhadavan
Nora Jones
Kenechukwu Okwuosa
Ben Tang
Satya Vedula student at Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine
Jessica Wahlberg
Benjamin Wing Hin Tang
Corrina Wong
Yuting ZhangMcGill University
Tahima Achekzai
Amy Zou
Irene Chang
Ben Hoshal, Graduate student Northwestern
Becky Lee
Michelle Matvey
Jenna Martin
Chris Hall
Jack Purvis
Linnea Sepe-Forest
Christine Liu
Alagia Cirolia